

The Council

Minutes Saturday 27 January 2018 at 12:30 In the Discovery Room, De Vere Orchard Hotel, University of Nottingham NG7 2RJ

Present:	Martin Soulsby - Paul Applegate Mark Bayada Adrian Bond Nick Bunting Brian Cumming Tash Higman Yassi Molazadeh Sue Stanhope Brian Vacher Georgie Vacher	Chair		
In attendance:	Liz Ashley Tony Butler Debbie Carter John Hitchen Jeff Montgomery Martin Shuttleworth	-	Editor, <i>BPA Skydive the Mag</i> Chief Operating Officer (COO) Vice President Safety & Technical Officer (STO) & STC Chair Secretary-General (Secretary)	
Observers and other staff:	8			
Apologies for absence:	Craig Poxon John Smyth MVO	-	UK Alt Delegate to IPC Vice President and UK Delegate to IPC	

Item Minute

1/18 Composition of Council 2018

Paul Applegate, Adrian Bond and Georgie Vacher had been elected by the membership to Council for three years, 2018, 2019 and 2010. Sue Stanhope had ben appointed as an independent to Council by the AGM for three years, 2018, 2019 and 2020.

The Chair had been elected by Council for three years, 2017, 2018 and 2019 (minute 2.1/17) and the Vice Chair for two years, 2017 and 2018 (minute 2.2/17).

See Appendix for tenure on Council.

2/18 Election of Officers & Committee Chairs, etc

A call for nominations had been circulated with the agenda, and would be taken from around the table only where there had been no advance nominations. One nomination had been received for each position, proposed and seconded as set out in the table on page 2.

The Chair said that the Treasurer was co-opted, and co-opted seats were annual.

Mark Bayada proposed, and Yassi Molazadeh seconded, the election of all of the nominees listed in the table.

Carried unanimously

Tash Higman proposed, and Paul Applegate seconded, a motion to co-opt the Treasurer and Chair of STC, as non-voting members of Council.

Carried unanimously

3/18 Meeting dates 2018

Meeting dates 2018 were agreed, per minute 8. Yassi Molazadeh asked for forward dates for the next 3 years.

2018 meeting dates agreed. Forward dates for following two years - Action: Secretary

British Parachute Association Ltd. A company limited by guarantee. Registered in London no 875429. Registered office: 5 Wharf Way, Glen Parva, Leicester LE2 9TF. VAT registration number 239 4696 20

Office	Nominee	Proposer	Seconder
Treasurer <i>1 year</i>	Debbie Carter	Adrian Bond	Paul Applegate
Chair STC <i>1 year</i>	Jeff Montgomery	Mark Bayada	Paul Applegate
Chair Communications Committee <i>1 year</i>	Adrian Bond	Paul Applegate	Yassi Molazadeh
Chair Development Committee <i>1 year</i>	Craig Poxon	Tash Higman	Brian Cumming
Chair Competitions Committee <i>1 year</i>	Brian Vacher	Tash Higman	Mark Bayada
Delegate to RAeC <i>1 year</i>	Craig Poxon	Brian Cumming	Tash Higman
Alternate Delegate to RAeC <i>1 year</i>	Martin Soulsby	Craig Poxon	Paul Applegate

4/18 <u>Register of directors' interests and attendance record at Council meetings</u> Council agreed to publish these, from this year, on the BPA website.

5/18 Strategy day

Action: Secretary

Council agreed to hold this on Tuesday 6 March at BPA HQ, 10:00-16:00 (approx). Nick Bunting (Chair, Strategy Group) would be the facilitator.

6/18 Royal Garden Party - Tuesday 15 May 2018

Council agreed to nominate the Chair and his wife.

7/18 British Skydiving logo

A shortlist of some possible design concepts had been circulated in advance. Council asked the Communications Committee to commission more design concepts for consideration. Council would select three options for a poll of the membership to decide.

Refer to the Communications Committee

Dates of meetings in 2018 Tuesdays at 18:00 at BPA HQ, LE2 9TF: 13 February, 17 April, 12 June, 7 August, 25 September and 27 November.

The meeting closed at 13:15.

8/18

Attached: Appendix - Tenure on Council

Appendix

Tenure on Council (per Articles 11 & 13)

Elected in 2017

Initial Chair - Martin Soulsby - 3 years - 2017, 2018 and 2019

Brian Vacher, Craig Poxon, Yassi Molazadeh - 3 years - 2017, 2018 and 2019

Brian Cumming, Mark Bayada, Tash Higman - 2 years - 2017 and 2018

Elected in 2018

Paul Applegate, Adrian Bond, Georgie Vacher - 3 years - 2018, 2019 and 2020

Independents appointed at AGM (Article 12)

Appointed at AGM 2017 Nick Bunting - 2 years - 2017 and 2018

Appointed at AGM 2018

Sue Stanhope - 3 years - 2018, 2019 and 2010